“Transgender Champion Awards” 2014

Focus: The Identity Trust is delighted to now provide an update on our Transgender Champion Awards 2014. award1

Our inaugural presentation of these awards took place at our successful Transgender Rights are Human Rights conference in Stormont in December.  The event took place in the heart of government in Stormont, with the very people in attendance who can act to promote change and equality throughout society, and was incredibly successful with real positivity and support.  Our event was a landmark event, being the first ever to address human rights issues specific to the needs of transgender and intersex individuals in Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland.  The event was hosted by Maeve McLaughlin MLA, Chair of the Health Committee and Focus: the Identity Trust (the first group on the island that exclusively represents and offers support to Transgender individuals who have a diagnosis of Gender Dysphoria and who are the only group to be protected under current Section 75 legislation in NI).

Please see our previous event report here for full details of this event.

Transgender Champion Awards 2014

Our Transgender Champion 2014 awards were awarded across five separate categories, for those agencies that have provided outstanding service to transgender and intersex individuals throughout the year.

We are privileged to have worked with these organisations, and proud to have been able to recognise their service and contribution to transgender individuals in 2014.  The award categories and recipients are as follows:

Independent Government Agency

Alyson Kilpatrick, Human Rights Advisor to the Human rights Department within the NI Policing Board on behalf of the Department for Human rights. Alyson Kilpatrick receives award at Focus Event in Stormont(2)

Individual Award

Maeve McLaughlin MLA, for her support of transgender and intersex individuals in her role as Chairperson of the Stormont Health committee.maeve1

Community/Voluntary organisation

Norma Shearer and staff team Training for Women Ltd for their continuing work in supporting Focus: The Identity Trust and transgender and intersex individuals and their families.CIMG7638

Workplace environment award

Tenants of Oaklee Trinity Housing Association (The Rosses scheme) and staff team at the Rosses -employed by Beacon support services, a branch of the NI Association for Mental Health.CIMG7639

Government Department

Martina Hanna, Head of Gender Equality Unit in the office of OFMDFM

Focus: the Identity Trust is also delighted to recognise the contribution to transgender and intersex human rights from our keynote speakers on the day, and we are delighted and privileged to award special Transgender Champion 2014 awards to;

Mr Aengus O’Snodagh TD

In recognition of his support of Human Rights in general but in particular his support of Dr Lydia Foy in her efforts to have her true gender recognised in the ROI, and also for introducing the first Gender Recognition Bill in Dail Eireann.aengus

Alexander Carlile, The Lord Carlile of Berriew QC CBE

For his achievement in introducing the first Gender Recognition Bill in the House of Commons, his continuing work in Human rights and equality for transgender and intersex individuals and their families in the House of Lords, and his work in support of April Ashley MBE who was one of the first  to undergo gender reassignment surgery in the UK.carlile4

Some other pictures of the awards……

CIMG7641 CIMG7593CIMG7596  CIMG7594